• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Large scale reverse engineering?

torne

Pokéngineer
    Years
    • Seen Oct 26, 2012
    First, yes, I do know what I'm talking about. I'm an embedded software developer who works on a realtime ARM embedded OS for a day job. I've reversed quite a lot of stuff before. :)

I'm quite interested in reverse engineering some Pokémon game on a large scale - exposing and documenting the engine in as much detail as possible. The editors that the community has developed are very impressive, but actually modifying the engine behaviour is mostly out of their scope. It's a cute game and the engine that powers it is very nice indeed, but prodding the contents of data structures is a little, well, awkward for my tastes. :)

It'd be neater to rip the ROM into the pieces it's composed of (individual tables/maps/sprites/etc) and be able to reassemble it from those same components. Removes the requirement to 'fit stuff in', and isolates the game from the engine. Identifying the components of the engine would make it easier to fiddle with too.

I'm probably looking at the GBA games, as D/P have a lack of readily available reference material at present.. identifying code by working backwards from the data locations is considerably easier than trying to work forwards from the entry point. :)

I can't find much information about the actual engine code. Does anything exist? How were the existing editing tools developed.. observation under emulation?

Just, well, wondering if anyone might have more docs than I can find. More stuff to start with is always good!

Supreme Dirt

used Petal Dance
    Years
    • Age 32